In the beginning….almost

I write because I can. I’m not saying it’s fantastic writing, I’m only saying it’s mine. Going through a rare cancer with a 20-30% chance of survival I fought like hell to live. God and his army of angels were with me every stumbling step of the way.

Two years of treatment, eleven surgeries, a lifetimes quota of radiation and two chemo courses later here I am. A bit worse for wear, but alive!

If you have never been touched by cancer in any way you are rare. Cancer didn’t just reach out and grab me, haul me to hell and ransack my body, it also destroyed everything I had worked for my entire life. It destroyed my marriage, my business, my career, my home, my friendships and family relationships. It took it all.

God had a plan. He knew I would find strength to survive and when feeling defeated he sent me angels. Total strangers came to me and told me that God said I needed a hug or a prayer. He always knew that I would come out on the other side of this. It wasn’t easy by any means. He allowed things to happen that I could not understand and he gave me strength and courage to get through it all.

I got a little bitter and a little burned, in the end there is sunshine where there had been darkness. I started writing to work through the pain. When I could walk more than a few steps I went outside with a camera and started shooting sunrises and sunsets. Eight years later I never leave the house without my camera and my pen never runs out of ink.

I now find that I can find light in any darkness. If I stumble I get up and take another step. Here I will post poems from the past eight years, some are bitter, some are defeatist, and some are wistful, however they are all my words…

If my journey helps you in some small way please share the joy and hope with me. If you need prayer I will be your prayer warrior.

Blessings,

Victoria

 

Leave a comment